Międzynarodowy Konkurs Skrzypcowy im. Henryka Wieniawskiego
Seiji Okamoto (Japan) - 2nd Prize Winner (shared) of 15th International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition (2016)

Seiji Okamoto (Japan) – 2nd Prize Winner (shared) of 15th International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition (2016)

Year of birth: 1994

Began to play the violin at the age of three. In 2014, won 1st prize and audience award at 19th International J. S. Bach Competition in Leipzig to become the first Asian winner of the event. Furthermore, awarded 1st prize at 60th Music Competition for Japanese Students in Tokyo, and 2nd prize and special award of the jury at Canetti International Violin Competition in Italy (2009). Currently a student of Tokyo University of Arts, he has studied with K. Nakazawa, K. Sawa, G. Poulet, P. Amoyal and H. Zack, and taken masterclasses with P. Vernikov, O. Krysa, R. Pasquier, R. Daugareil, and others. Has played several concerts and recitals, not only in Japan but also in Germany, Austria, Italy, Croatia, USA and South Korea.

Seiji Okamoto plays a Januarius Gagliano instrument (Italy, 1754) on loan from Nippon Violin Co.


Stage 1

L. van Beethoven: Sonata No. 7 for violin and piano in C minor, Op. 30

H. Wieniawski: Capriccio no. 4 Le Staccato, Op. 10

H. Wieniawski: Polonaise in D major, Op. 4

E. Ysaÿe: Sonata no. 3 in D minor, Op. 27 Ballade

K. Szymanowski: Myths Op. 30 – The Fountain of Arethusa

Stage 2

F. Kreisler: Chinese Tambourine

G. Fauré: Apres un reve

R. Schumann: Sonata No. 1 for violin and piano in A minor, Op. 105

Stage 3

W. A. Mozart: Violin concerto A major, KV 219, first movement

W. A. Mozart:Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat major, KV 364, first movement

J. S. Bach: Largo from Sonata No. 3 for violin solo in C minor BWV 1005

Stage 4

H. Wieniawski: Violin Concerto no. 2 in D minor, Op. 22

J. Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77

Pianist: Michał Francuz

Preliminary selection - Tokyo/Japan (13-15.05.2016)

Preliminary selection - Tokyo/Japan (13-15.05.2016)

more >>